Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today's technologically sophisticated world, everyone has widespread access to smartphones and laptops. Using these gadgets has merits and drawbacks. The internet on phones and the availability of a sea of information, video games, and entertainments provide the interest in using smartphones. Mental and eye health problems are the most significant demerits. Admittedly, I tend that it has a positive effect. Smartphones and related devices are available in every home. They are a source of entertainment for those who have the internet, the gate of access to a wide range of software that provides films, games, and apps for being in touch with friends and family. These services attract children to use these gadgets. For instance, an Instagram app that is widely used by children prepares tremendous opportunities to contact, watch, and exchange information between individuals. Moreover, in the study year, children have assignments to do and a search on the phone can help them solve their chores accurately and effectively. A clear example is the Matapp Which solves mathematical equations in the blink of an eye and can be downloaded from AppStore on iPhone mobile. Therefore, using smartphones is an attractive behaviour among children. On the contrary, watching screens for a long duration of the day has a multitude of side effects that can not be ignored, that said; as mental and eye health problems. Mobile and laptop screen has a wide range of detrimental rays that are hazardous for the brain and eyes. The dangerous rays may decrease the visual acuity of the eyes in children. For example, an academic survey revealed that in children who spent more than 5 hours per day in front of the computer, the short-eye-sighted problem is 55 per cent more prevalent. Also, the rate of convulsion is 20% more persuasive. Although, this complication is undeniable, at the same time can be prevented by protective glass shields. As a result, the rays of electronic devices can be harmful to human beings, but it is preventable. In conclusion, I reiterate that although smartphones have medical side effects, they have a wide range of attractions that can not be denied. If children use them accurately and with the supervision of adults, they will have a positive effect on their life.