In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people agree that railroads are more logical to make investments in than busline. However, this issue is not entirely straightforward and arguments can be also made against the idea. This essay will discuss both sides of the debate and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support subsidising railroads claim that the comfort of trains is a significant advantage. In European countries, for instance, the most preferred transport system is railways due to the comfortable seats of trains which are suitable for especially long hours of journeys. Furthermore, proponents highlight the accessibility of this transportation for both individuals and governments. In terms of the government's perspective, the construction of rail lines is cheaper than the pavement of roads, causing the authorities to save money for other facilities. This also affects the prices of train tickets in a positive way, leading to travellers preferring this transport option. If people had a low income and had to travel frequently, trains would be a choice for them to achieve their destinations. On the other hand, those who oppose the idea cite the ease of pavement of roads in geographically tough areas such as mountains. Many countries have different geography in their different regions such as fluctuating altitudes and valleys, causing an obligation to build asphalt lines to provide a transportation network for the folk. In Sweden, for instance, the authorities had to develop a street network in the Alps because these mountains are the only available of this choice. Another argument is the inevitable high capacity of buses to carry people at once. It is almost universally accepted that the vehicles for passengers have plenty of seats which offers opportunities to more residents to be able to travel wherever and whatever they need. For example, in highly populated countries like India, the first preference of the population is the bus as public transportation due to its 7/24 availability and thus huge capacity. In conclusion, I would tend to side with opponents of building new rail lines. It seems that public transportation on roads is suitable for every situation. It would be logical to conclude that making investments in the development of existing road networks is a viable option.