New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has been improving consistently, causing teenagers to spend their spare time in different ways than it used to. In my opinion, the merits of the situation outweigh its demerits. On the one hand, the gravest benefit is the Internet as a technological development that offers children a huge source of knowledge about many topics. This leads to the increased curiosity of youngsters and thus a tendency to do more research. For instance, many current scientists claim that they used to browse every piece of information that they wondered about in their childhood, resulting in the satisfaction of knowing and also fostering their curiosity. Another merit is state-of-the-art video games as a part of technology. By, this we mean that teenagers have the opportunity to improve their creativity and concentration skills by playing games that are designed for this purpose. This affects children’s talents in a positive way and thus provides them with various career options in the future. On the other hand, due to spending long hours in front of screens, teenagers would not be part of real life and communicate with their friends properly which brings about a lack of social skills. The other downside is mental health problems that might be caused by computers, social media, and the Internet. It is almost a universal fact that playing violent games and watching content including violence cause a tendency to aggressive behaviours, especially in the young. According to a study, for example, the majority of criminals have been exposed to violence during their childhood, which demonstrates unlimited usage of the Internet may negatively affect the future of the young population. However, these negative points can be eliminated by parents by limiting the time that youngsters spend on computers and also the content of games. In conclusion, although the new generation may be affected by highly-developed technology in a negative way, it is possible to prevent these dangers and focus on the positives of it.