In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree whit this opinion?

Generally, eating healthy food is equally living a healthy life therefore it should be key. Recently, there has been an increase in health challenges in some nations which was caused by excessive consumption of fast food. Nonetheless, I believe the lawmakers should insist on fast food owners paying more taxes and this essay will give the reason why. To begin with, I agree fast food owners should pay more taxes since most of the food they produce consists of more fat which has led nations to spend a great amount of money on healthcare. Medications for heart disease and diabetes are very pricey. For example, the government of Ghana subsides diabetic medications at 50% off. Furthermore, high taxes imposed on fast foods will discourage the establishment or closing down of more fast food joints in certain countries, in such a situation, people will start to make their own healthy meals as a result of the unavailability of fast food. For instance, people will be compelled to prepare their own meals and regulate fatty food intake. In addition, unhealthy people are less productive which will lead to an economic crisis since they can not perform as expected in the workplace.Healthy individuals have the physical energy to perform, however, Low performance is equivalent to low income which will result in poor economic growth. For instance, sick people do not go to work, therefore, they do not contribute to economic growth as a result of not paying taxes. In conclusion, I strongly agree fast food should be taxed higher in order to reduce health challenges such as heart disease, and diabetes and also contribute to economic growth.