Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of imported from countries all across the world Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Presently, a lot of shops are selling foodstuffs brought in from other parts of the world rather than local ones. Although this leads to future relationships among countries, the downsides of loss of jobs and high dependency rate outweigh the aforementioned benefit. To begin with, Even though importing provisions from other nations fosters bonds and long-term relationships among countries. However, this phenomenon results in the loss of jobs. For instance, in Ghana, the majority of its citizens living in rural areas are farmers and basically, agriculture is the only source of income for them. This development means, the loss of jobs for these folks and consequently, they wouldn't be able to afford a Please three-square meal or pay for their children's school fees. In addition, a high dependency rate is another drawback of patronizing foreign food rather than indigenous ones. One of the sectors that offer numerous employment is the agriculture sector. But when people are not consuming local produce, there will be little to do, hence, decreased enrollments in such areas. Subsequently, this leads to a high number of people depending on others. For instance, a survey in Ghana in the year 2020 revealed that about 50% of food products are imported into the country from China and about one-third of the total labour force in the agricultural sector was laid off. This is the main factor contributing to the high dependency ratio in that year. In conclusion, a lot of stores are bringing in different food products from other parts of the world instead of patronizing locally grown ones. Whereas this may lead to future friendships among countries, the disadvantages of loss of jobs and high rate of people dependent on others prevail over the merits.