In some countries, university education is free for every citizen. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Access to tertiary education is free for all students in some nations. The main benefits of this are the rise in opportunities for everyone to follow their dream job and the possibility to narrow the gap between the poorest and the richest within a nation; however, the key drawbacks are the huge amount of pecuniary resources that governments need to spend and the lack of appreciation that pupils might feel. If education was free for all citizens, everybody could pursue a good career. It is often observed that a child, who has talent and good grades at school, needs to stop studying because of all the expenses the family ought to pay. Making university free for all would allow the less fortunate to study to be a doctor in the future. Furthermore, it would diminish the gulf between poor families and rich families, as everyone could have a good job and a good salary, increasing people´s living conditions and the country´s economy. For example, if medical and law universities were free for everyone, poor students, after graduation, would be able to provide better living conditions to their family members and withdraw them from poverty. Nevertheless, if this was free for everyone, the government would need to spend a huge amount of its budget to fund these studies, which would not leave much room to improve other areas that are also important in society, such as healthcare. Another disadvantage is that pupils might not develop a sense of appreciation towards their studies because they would feel that everything is easy to achieve, which could, eventually, make them repeat years over and over again, increasing, even more, the government expenses. For instance, when someone pays for education, it is more likely that they study harder and finish graduation in the required time. In conclusion, free tertiary education can be positive because it can make even the less fortunate have a good job in the future, which can lessen the differences between low classes and high classes. However, the high expenses that government has to cope with and the lack of value that students might feel towards studying are some negative factors to take into consideration.