It is sometimes said that ‘travel broadens the mind’. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

The world is always shifting, and so do people. Therefore, some people choose travelling as a way to open their minds, and see how the world has changed day by day. From my point of view, I partly agree with this thought due to the advantages of it and travel is not only a way to help people broaden their knowledge. Travelling can be seen as an effective way to be open-minded due to some reasons. First of all, travelling will help people to know more about a country, by experiencing their culture and custom. For example, when foreign visitors come to Vietnam, they have a chance to understand more about the behaviour, and lifestyle of most Vietnamese through daily activities. Secondly, going to another place is one of the best ways to meet new friends and witness different points of view on an issue. Different people from different countries will have their own thought, and views about a situation. As a result, people can easily put themself in others' shoes, and develop empathy. On top of that, there are some effective ways to broaden the mind, not only by travelling. Changing opinions and seeing others' reactions can be learned by experiencing real-life situations. For example, a discussion definitely shows us the thinking of our friends on the same issue. Due to that, people realize how their minds change while thinking about that situation, in this way or that way and why they have those views. Opening the mind can also get from reading. For example, people can witness the author's view or figure out the solution that they found when reading a self-help book. In conclusion, it can be claimed that not only travelling but also other effective ways can help people be open-minded. Therefore, I do agree with this statement partly due to the above reasons.