Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, we are surrounded by technological tools of each type, size and dimension. While we are using them, they track everything we are doing and they have the access to personal data such as telephone numbers, photos and even products that we bought. Very often, some people do not have a strong knowledge about these devices, so they do not know that this is happening. In this essay I will discuss why I think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, and I will argue about some of them. Without the use of app as Google Maps or Waze we would not have one of the most significant advantages of nowadays, we use them every day to go to work or new restaurants or bar where we are never been. It is true that this kind of app use our location and use to track where we are, but some people cannot live without. On the Internet we can find all we need such as a pie recipe, free books or music and useful materials for university, however through our online research, companies can find out our preferences and this is why sometimes we found products that we would like to have on the recommended part. Unfortunately find out what we want means that is probably that we will spend more money on those items, and this is one of the scariest disadvantages because in some people this can provoke the compulsory shopping syndrome. Another disadvantage is that very often our devices have one photo cameras, so it is possible that some websites take photos of us during our research. In my opinion there are several methods to avoid a wide list of disadvantages, for example you can put a sticker on your webcam so they cannot take videos of pictures of you and try to not share your position when it is possible. People cannot live without all the advantages that technologies offer us so but is it important to be aware of the situation to avoid bad surprise. To conclude, in this essay I discussed some useful things that we do with technology every day but I also explained to what we have to be aware for our security.