Some people think that we should replace old buildings and houses in cities with more modern buildings. Other people think we should protect old buildings. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

At present, architecture is a significant factor in representing cultures. Therefore, buildings in cities vary between modern and ancient ones. However, some people believe that old buildings should be replaced with new ones, while others believe that governments should protect them. In my opinion, the combination of the two is the best way forward. On the one hand, ancient buildings are a representation method for old cultures and lives, and that is why many people believe that governments should protect them. Therefore, usually, historical museums are old buildings due to the meaning and information that depict them. However, the police have a special section that protects the ancient buildings, and they call them heritage. Take heritage houses as an example, many people live in heritage houses, so having a license is a must for everyone who lives in the house, and adding or fixing a problem in a house should be done under the government. On the other hand, sustainability is an essential factor in buildings; for that reason, many people believe that modern buildings should be replaced by old ones due to new technologies and materials that are used in modern ones which provide sustainability and less damage to the environment. Two years ago, two researchers conducted a study on the environmental pollution caused by buildings, it showed that modern buildings used new strategies to decrease the percentage of pollution. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the combination of the two beliefs is the best way forward due to benefits that come from ancient buildings which are cultural representations, and the less pollution from modern ones.