Write about the following topic. It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Reading is one of the favourite pastimes for some people. However, there is an argument that it's really tough to encourage children to read nowadays. This essay will explain the reason why it's hard for the younger generations to get their attention into reading and provide necessary measures to divert their extra time to reading. The use of gadgets and other modern technological inventions of children are the major contributing factors as to why children of today are not engaging in reading activities. This is because most youngsters spend their free time on these devices, playing online games than spending their time reading. For example, a group of students played video games during their school break instead of reading articles or other relevant information related to their studies. Thus, technological advancement and the use of modern devices are the main reasons why most children are not engaged in reading. Children should make involved in reading activities in school and at home. By doing this, they can make the necessary progress in reading as they are obliged to read reading materials such as books and newspapers. In addition, they can also read articles online by using their gadgets and the internet. Doing research for example, students can read online any relevant information with regards to their study and make use of the internet not only for reading but also for educational purposes. Thus, giving children some essential tasks may encourage them to read. In conclusion, reading is significant for children as it can enhance their language and vocabulary. Although the use of technology hinders the young ones to read, we can still use this modern invention to encourage them to engage in reading.