The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade. This has made overseas travel much more accessible. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

As advancements in aircraft technology have led to an increase in the supply of air transportation options, overseas sightseeing has increasingly become common and affordable for people around the world. This essay will outline what I consider to be the potential advantages of this phenomenon, as well as some of the negative outcomes that I feel are likely to occur. In terms of the benefits, there are two clear ones. The first is that lower-income families have more access to travel due to cheaper airfares. Although such ticket prices were previously unaffordable for them, they can finally enjoy eye-opening experiences like others. This will result in people's development in the long run. Another benefit is economic growth in some countries where their revenue heavily relies on tourism. In Thailand, for example, one of the major sources of income is the hospitality industry. As such, the lower cost of flying has not only encouraged more travellers to visit but also attracted them to spend more in the country. Indeed, the more visitors enter, the better the economy will be. There are, however, some possible drawbacks of this trend. One is a decrease in domestic travel, in which citizens opt for international flights over inland sightseeing. Despite being popular in the past decades, national tourism no longer provides exciting and adventurous experiences for locals, resulting in a cash outflow of the country and lower income of individuals in some areas that used to be popular among in-country visitors. The further issue is an illegal workforce because the cost of relocation is less expensive than before. Some people in developing countries, for instance, can afford a one-way ticket to first-world countries to apply for jobs illegally. However, they may end up living as undocumented immigrants in the destination country, which can create legal issues and difficulties in accessing basic services. In conclusion, while the benefits of cheaper air flying for both the economy and individuals are evident, it is important to address the potential negative consequences such as reduced domestic travel and an increase in an unauthorised workforce. However, the hardship ultimately makes a decrease in flying costs more advantageous than disadvantageous.