Nowadays, instead of locally sourced produce, many supermarkets sell a variety of foods imported from countries all across the world. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

In recent times, a variety of grains are sold by many mega-shopping centres which come from other parts of the world, instead of being locally based. I would say that this trend has more downsides than pros because such meals are expensive as well as it can discourage local farmers. To begin with, bringing food from foreign nations is pricy. To explain, exporting the meals stuff can pass through a double taxation process, one from the place from which it comes, and secondly, from the destination. Consequently, all these duty charges will rise the end product cost. For example, mangoes which produce in my country are less costly than those that come from an outer place. Hence, taking foods from other countries is over-priced. In addition, it can discourage local farmers. Since grain producers devote a large sum of cash to prepare their products for sale and if it cannot give them proper income. Thus, it can deter them and as a result, they will not grow food which will be a huge burden on a nation’s economy. To illustrate, in a wheat season, a small landholder spends millions of rupees to make wheat flour. However, taking foods from other nations can be beneficial because it can make peoples’ health robust. To exemplify, many nations cannot grow all kinds of foods, since they do not have the required climate. So exporting those foods can provide a number of minerals to dwellers and ultimately they will have perfect well-being. To sum up, many supermarkets prefer to bring eating materials from other parts of the world, rather than from local places and this trend has more negative points than advantages due to the fact that it’s high-priced as well as it can let down national grain growers. All in all, I feel that authorities need to facilitate local farmers and give them the latest technologies, so they will be able to grow each kind of food.