Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, it is quite common to travel around the world for entertainment. However, some would argue that it brings a lot of negatives to the countries popular among travelers. This essay strongly disagrees with that statement because tourism might bring a lot of benefits to the locals: strengthening the local economy and contributing to local infrastructure development are two of many more gains that will be discussed further. To begin with, the local economy of many regions or even the economy of some countries is based on tourists. These places do not have any kind of natural resources, like gas or oil, no industry and production, and opening them is feasible for environmental and economic reasons, hence, tourism becomes one of the main or greatest sources of income. For example, tourism is the largest sector of Maldives' economy, providing for more than 28% of GDP and 60% of foreign exchange. Secondly, in order to be able to receive and accommodate many people during the vacation season an infrastructure should be created, including airports, railways, catering, medical institutions,financial system, availability of the Internet, hotels, safe water, etc. Thus, local people first of all will be given an opportunity to use all of these facilities of good quality in their lives. No doubt, local customs and traditions must be taken into account and respected. To conclude, international traveling might be positive because many countries' budgets consist of earnings from it and local people are able to benefit from the income opportunities arising from tourism.