The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems and what measures can be taken to solve these problems?

Migration from rural areas to cities brings about some serious issues in both places. This essay sets out to shed light on the problems caused by this movement and present effective ways of dealing with them. Both agricultural areas as well as cities suffer from this trend. Perhaps the major problem rural areas tend to face is the lack of a workforce. If a large number of adults flock to cities in search of better pay and higher standards of living, then farmers are likely to struggle to find workers. This, consequently, can mean delays in yields and a rise in food prices. City areas also aren't spared of the negatives that ensue mass migration. The already-existing problem of overcrowding is exacerbated once more people move to cities. This puts an extra strain on the public transportation, housing, healthcare and education sectors, the improvement of which takes many years of thorough planning and investment. Nevertheless, there are some effective steps to remedy the problems mentioned above. First of all, if the government addresses the main causes of migration to cities, which are poor remuneration and the lack of facilities, then rural dwellers are less likely to migrate to major conurbations in search of a better life. This is because they can meet their needs in their own locality, for they would have the resources. Authorities of metropolises should be prepared for growth in population number too since population explosion seems inevitable; even if people don’t move from agricultural areas, the city population on its own might explode. Therefore, city councils should always be ready to take measures to upgrade their public transport infrastructure, housing development, along with education and healthcare. The state of Philadelphia, for instance, introduced longer buses to cope with overcrowding, while in Amsterdam the construction of container houses has been put in place to solve housing shortages. In conclusion, an exodus from agricultural areas to metropolises afflicts both places in terms of employment and social services. However, these problems can easily be alleviated through government intervention and reforms.