More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

Cybercommunication has become increasingly popular for both professional and personal purposes. Due to the fast technology development, people now meet each other in person much less than in old times. In this essay, I will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of online conversation. To start with, online communication either by phone or computer is very convenient and efficient. The messages could be delivered within seconds or several minutes, either video or audio calls have enabled chatting timely and effective. For example, work emails or messages without delay could easily boost the general performance of enterprises. Secondly, communicating by technology is more economical than meeting in person. For instance, if someone talks to a friend who lives in another state via video calls, they could easily save potential transport and hotel costs. On the other hand, communicating via technology could make people more distant from each other. People tend to input less genuine feelings online than to engage in face-to-face interactions which create stronger bonds. Virtual communication could also affect individuals’ mental health and companies’ overall performances. The convenience of communicating virtually without the necessity to go out could cause solitariness and loneliness for individuals, moreover, deteriorate their psychological well-being. Furthermore, the challenges of supervising employees who work from home are real, for example, staff could easily waste paid hours chatting with friends or be distracted by other life responsibilities which results in a decrease in overall business performance. In conclusion, online communication via digital gadgets enjoys both merits and drawbacks. I personally believe there are more advantages than disadvantages since the flaws could be diminished or mitigated.