Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that tertiary education has a significant impact on a vast number of people as well as societies. Yet, there remain arguments as to whether the objective of higher education is confined to assisting graduates in having excellent careers. Although a university degree plays an essential role in one’s working life, I believe individuals and society derive enormous benefits. It is an indisputable fact that a university degree is, at times, highly beneficial to an individual career path. Despite occasional cases where people quickly progress in their professions with no credentials, employers are more willing to recruit applicants who have obtained their university qualifications, in that applicants will encounter fewer challenges when applying for a particular position. One further benefit is that pupils conduct several pieces of research, which entails direct interaction with those in business and, in turn, they are more likely to become thoroughly familiar with the job for which they will apply. On the other hand, some justifiably argue that not only does academic education offer more significant benefits to students, but also it is of paramount importance for a society’s development. Universities are considered small communities representing real-life challenges on a smaller scale where pupils gain an insight into different cultures by having the chance to relate to people from different socioeconomic backgrounds holding utterly diverse opinions. One, simultaneously, practices interpersonal skills, and by finishing university, one will have excelled at this crucial skill. As such, they are more likely to contribute to society more positively. In conclusion, although universities positively affect one’s career and should not be overlooked, I believe their contribution to social development and individuals’ lives is far more advantageous.