The best way to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, cars are causing pollution in the environment, because their numbers have increased on the roads exponentially. Many think that the most effective method to resolve environmental issues is to raise the price of gasoline for vehicles. In my opinion, however, this is just one of the ways to solve this problem. On the one hand, raising the cost of fuel will make living more expensive because freight would increase the prices of essential goods and foodstuffs, jeopardising food security. Additionally, it will overburden the infrastructure of public transport and make commuting difficult. On the other hand, any attempts at improving this facility and extending it will prove prohibitive in terms of money, notwithstanding the number of years required to make it happen. For instance, the metro constructions in various cities in India have been happening for a decade at enormous cost to the exchequer, and still have failed to cover the entire geographical area. Hence, increasing fuel prices will not be the best way to decrease pollution. Therefore, the government should attack this issue from various angles. One of them is to make the existing public transport infrastructure more efficient price-wise, extent of reach and increased frequency. Over and above that vehicles should be banned in city limits because they are the most congested parts of the country. In addition to bringing betterment to the environment and to city dwellers, the government should think unconventionally and bring some alternative ideas to solve this problem. For example, constructing cycle tracks on the road for cycle riders and for others or initiating people to buy electric automobiles instead of petrol vehicles. This would help in solving the problem. In conclusion, the government should think more cogently about the environment and about future generations and bring more desirable solutions to the table to address the matter.