People are surrounded by all kinds of advertising. Some people believe that advertising has a negative effect on people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the pivotal role of the advert, the question of how advertising affects society has garnered widespread interest. One common perspective that some people, myself included, advocate is that this invention has an adverse impact on human life. Opponents of the fact that advertisement brings various benefits cite the fact that those ads are powerful instruments for getting to know useful products and services and disseminating information, which helps people to make informed shopping decisions. Nonetheless, this thinking fails to factor in the fact that marketers are incredibly excellent at making people believe that their products and services can improve people ’s lives in some ways, which can lead consumers to make impulsive and unnecessary purchases. For instance, if the adverts for a new smartphone with interesting features are shown on the TV, it can spontaneously implant a seed in human's minds that they need to upgrade their old one despite the fact that this thinking has never been on their shopping plans. What is more, the bombardment of various means of advertisement such as billboards, or online ads without rigid screening before they are live on TV or displayed can be misleading and untruthful. That being the case, consumers are forced to expose inappropriate and harmful ads like those promoting unhealthy and dangerous items, which leads to false and decisive claims from people. Furthermore, useless advertising appearing widely on every platform can disturb and distract people from their initial purposes. For instance, many youngsters who cannot afford to pay the subscription to have a premium account on YouTube or Spotify, as a result, have to spend their time looking at meaningless repetitive ads before they are allowed to watch any videos or listen to their favourite songs. In conclusion, with the aforementioned reasons, I strongly support the belief that the advertisement brings undesirable effects on society, which far outweigh the advantages it has.