One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, with the outstanding progress of medical techniques, more and more diseases that in the past used to be fatal can be treated. This essay will discuss both the benefits and the disadvantages of this event in order to establish whether one of them is more relevant than the other. On the one hand, the development of medical care is dangerous in terms of overpopulation. The world population is now about 8 billion, an impressive number if we compared it with the past years. The increase in the planet's inhabitants is due to many factors, but the improvement of healthcare is the main one. What concerns the experts the most is the fact that the number of human beings is not directly proportional to the essential goods to satisfy them. This means that just a little portion of the population will have enough resources to live a worthy and rich life, while the rest will probably live in poor conditions. Another risk linked to overpopulation is the easy spreading of disease. In fact, many scientists stated that in crowded places the chance to get a virus from someone is higher. In this way, medical development becomes risky for itself! On the other hand, it is undeniable that this progress brings plenty of benefits. First and foremost, the increased possibilities for the patients to survive rises the rate of happiness and hope among ill people and their relatives. Hence, the level of general joy grows! Secondly, if medicine wouldn’t have risen, we couldn’t beat some modern health issues. Let's just think about the recent covid-19 pandemic: we overcame that painful situation thanks to advanced medical techniques that prevented the death of many. These are the reasons why I think that it is not fair to stop medical research to avoid overpopulation. I believe that there are many other ways to cope with this problem. For instance, governments could implement laws to limit births. Another idea could be improving buildings in order to have more space for humans to live. In my opinion, the field of health should be able to perfect itself as long as illness will exist. To sum up, even though medical development has some important arguments against, I personally think that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks.