Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days we see more and more people switch to other medical therapies from traditional ones. I personally disagree that this trend would bring more positives than people expected. Although, people can enjoy some benefits from some alternative healthcare methods. For example, a variety of pocket-sized smart devices like mobile blood pressure meters have emerged in the market and allow people to keep updated on their physical conditions at home. They have become more popular by offering greater convenience and cutting the costs of transporting to hospitals. In addition, people tend to take health products that producers claim to be derived from natural food, as they believe their deprived health conditions resulting from poor lifestyle, lack of exercise and sleep seem to be curable by off-the-counter medical products. However, I am all for encouraging people to stay with the traditional ways when it comes to their physical problems. Firstly, there might be some hidden side effects for new medicines since they are not used by patients for long periods enough compared to traditional ones. Secondly, it is harmful to people who are suffering from chronic problems such as diabetes and hypertension to stop regular health checks by professionals, which is essential for patients and doctors to stay tuned for the development of diseases. In short, visiting hospitals is the major way for you to prevent your health conditions from developing into more serious ones. In conclusion, though supporters may argue the benefits non-traditional medical methods have on us, I would remain to say that the advantages of offline clinic trips will not be overtaken in the foreseeable future.