Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

In recent decades, a delay in public transportation systems and long travelling times are common concerns in many metropolitan areas throughout the world. It seems that governments should provide assistance for this phenomenon rather than citizens' efforts. This essay will discuss the causes of this issue and suggest possible solutions to improve the circumstance. To begin with, due to the tendency of individuals to prefer commuting by a private car, significant traffic congestion which results in transport delays and long journey times is becoming prevalent in cities. Another reason is that narrow road conditions also significantly affect unexpected postponement of buses because of the difficulty of changing lanes, which makes the other vehicles slow down. For instance, a transportation department in the USA proves that the roads in most countries are relatively narrow, compared to a massive amount of traffic. Therefore, it is essential for governments to support in order to improve this situation. The possible solution would be that if governments start allocating high taxation on the usage of personal vehicles and promoting eco-friendly transport such as bicycles with subsidies, the high volume of traffic will be reduced naturally. In addition, this phenomenon of the decreased number of vehicles on the road will significantly bring positive effects on environmental issues as well. Furthermore, the construction of the road which is only available for public transport such as buses, and taxis will comparatively improve the road condition. For example, public transport roads have been implemented for a few years in Australia, it reduced traffic congestion and journey time during rush hour. In conclusion, the intervention of governments is strongly in need of improving overall aspects of traffic conditions. Consequently, To minimise the number of transport delays and long journey times, governments ought to implement legacies and consider building public transport roads.