Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. To what extent do you agree?

Every age group in our society, including children, consume a lot of information via newspapers, tv shows and social networks. This has made the content reported by the media vital. Celebrity report has been on the rise and more than ever before published about them in every publication. This has raised concerns about the adverse effects of celebrity news on our kids, with which I agree. Firstly, a regular spotlight on celebrity lifestyle and updates can push back another serious topic in society. With the broadcast of their favourite actor or actress regularly on TV, children may be distracted from other important updates in their city. Thereby, making them less aware of any positive or negative developments in their area. For example, local news may advertise a famous actor visiting their town and take younger viewers' attention away from important events shown before this advert. Secondly, publishing a famous individual's extravagant lifestyle and wealth can create unrealistic expectations in a kid's mind. Excessive coverage of an individual's physique or way of life can demoralize people in their early stages of life. They will idolize these icons and feel ashamed if they failed to live up to their standard of living. For instance, there have been cases reported in news about teenagers feeling ashamed that they cannot afford clothes worn by their favourite celeb portrayed in a magazine. To conclude, covering celebrities through publications has led teens and toddlers in our society to ignore or be less aware of actual issues around them. Additionally, excessive reporting of a superstar has led to children having an unrealistic standard of lifestyle and wealth.