Young people spend too much time and money following fashion trends (clothing, technology). To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, young people spend most of their time and money following trends in fashion in terms of clothing and technology. I disagree with this statement because I think this phenomenon will bring several benefits to the youth. Firstly, following the trend mode might increase the young community's self-esteem. When they wear new clothing or smartphone, they will get a feeling of satisfaction because of positive words or appreciation from other people in their surroundings. Furthermore, it becomes part of rewarding themselves when they get high achievements. For example, after her friends say that she is charming in her clothes, it will increase her confidence and mood. As a result, having new stuff might bring happiness to young society. Secondly, due to following fashion trends in terms of technology, young people can build their capacity in academic ways. Technology such as smartphones provides much reliable information from many parts of the world that young people can use to underpin their studies. While the youth want to search for new data on the internet, they can use many trustworthy applications such as Google to find out the answer. For instance, a student who has an assignment from his teacher can search for the answer on the internet rather than in a book. Therefore, spending much time following trends will increase their academic ability regarding improving their knowledge. To sum up, by following the newest fashion trend such as clothing and technology, young people can have more self-satisfaction and support their education processes in school or university.