What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad?

Migrating to another country is not for everyone. It is extremely challenging as it implicates to start from zero in a new place where nobody knows you. In general, either to go to study or work, looking for a better life is the main reason for living abroad, and that is the best part of it. In this essay I will describe the pros and cons of moving overseas giving some clear arguments from my own background and knowledge. The first benefit of migrating is the possibility to explore the culture and get to know it deeply. One clear example of this occurs due to the interaction with locals, introducing the migrants to their traditions by sharing with them special activities and celebrations, trying native meals, and listening to specific music. Getting to know a different culture is one of the most amazing life apprenticeships. Another advantage I consider is the increased adaptability to numerous situations. This means that from the moment that the foreigners decide to start a new project life, their solving problem’s ability gets deeply developed. For instance, a common scenery of living away is to change jobs many times depending on the salary, the work experience, the location and the weekly hours worked. In these cases, people improve their work skills and gain more flexibility to make important decisions in specific contexts. However, migrating can also be immensely difficult. Two clear and closely related disadvantages of living abroad are the loneliness feeling and the uprooted. Living far away from your home, your family and friends can be really hard, and it is not for everyone. Having this experience strengthens you but the fact of feeling the distance will never change. A clear example is when a loved relative is passing through a bad situation, and you cannot stay there to help him or her. Furthermore, being far away from your own culture can also make you feel alone and misunderstood, which sometimes makes you think about returning. In conclusion, living abroad could be awesome or very sad, it all depends on the person. Some people enjoy the experience and other just regret it and decide to come back home. I personally believe that living in another country makes you grow up in a different way turning you into a more mature person, with the adaptability and flexibility to live without any rigid structure.