Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor-bike. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Along with the boom of the globalized world, more and more accidents occur when teenagers are allowed to drive when they are over eighteen. There has been a major concern that in order to drive on safe roads, the pragmatic solution is to upgrade the age to be able to travel by different forms of transportation which I partially agree with. This essay will explain my opinion by giving examples and demonstrating standpoints. On the one hand, carefulness and atmosphere protection are the two most apparent advantages of this novel approach. Adults are undeniably using their vehicles in secure ways because they are experienced in driving for a long time. It has been proven that some youngsters are still blissfully unaware of the detrimental effects caused by alcohol; As a result, changing the minimum age could have society avoid potential crash risks. For instance, after drinking beer, careless drivers have a tendency to drive home without any supervision; thus, they will breed negligent accidents. Another factor is that the fewer cars have been utilized, the fresher the atmosphere which humans benefit most. Moreover, if the youth are prohibited to steer to workplaces or institutions, toxic emissions released into the air and traffic jams will be decreased. On the other hand, this method may cause some drawbacks which affect citizens, especially adolescents. Teenagers are now allowed to drive vehicles when they are over eighteen, studying higher education or already have jobs, the novel laws will affect them in terms of independence. They are more likely to depend on their families and relatives in lieu of social transport because of social evils. This can be exemplified in the case of more and more illegal drivers, who did not receive driving licenses, causing accidents because of the unawareness of the instructions associated with driving. In conclusion, although the drawbacks of this new rule need to be concerned, I am of the opinion that the profits will be outweighed due to the environmental protection and vivid awareness of mature individuals.