Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished equally as adults. This essay strongly disagrees with this suggestion as now will be discussed. The first argument behind my belief is that young criminals are mostly found to have poor school attendance, which is solely the fault of their parents. The failure to attend school as a daily routine instils in children that they do not have to comply with social norms and that they can do as they please. For example, if they had proficient care from their parents or other family members, they could establish good habits and have strong discerning power to stay away from doing bad things. Hence, it would be unfair to sentence young crimes as same as adults due to the difference in the level of social awareness. Another point worth mentioning is that young incarceration may have complex threats to the emotional and physical well-being of children. Incarcerated juveniles who are in their main physical development stage often have unmet health needs when being in jail and may face subsequent worse health status than their non-justice-involved counterparts. Also, ex-offenders are more likely to face suspicion and prejudice after release which may erode depressive symptoms. For instance, it would be extremely challenging for released prisoners to apply for a decent job or to rent a house. The consequent economic hardship can perpetuate the vicious cycle of recidivism. In this manner, harsh retribution is not suitable for juvenile crimes for its disastrous consequences. In conclusion, I entirely disagree that young people should be punished as same as an adult given the aforementioned arguments.