People spend less time at home than they used to. What are the reasons for this change and what are effects on society and individuals.

It is true that these days the amount of time people stay at home is much lower than in the past. There are a number of reasons behind this behaviour and it could bring about several consequences for individuals and society. To begin with, it seems evident that less time at home principally stems from the hectic schedules of each age group. Indeed, it takes students almost half of their days to study at school and apparently, this figure for adults is far more considerable, it can be up to eight hours at workplaces and even increases because of the extra hour. This is owing to the preference for career prospects, which means a higher position may earn a greater amount of money or it could be their responsibility to fulfil the needy demands of their families. As this change becomes popular in society, several related issues can be anticipated. Firstly, there will be a crack in the relationship between family members. The more time people allocate to their jobs, the less one they spend with their relatives. As a consequence, the chance of understanding others is decreasing at an alarming rate, which may give rise to a variety of problems such as depression or divorce. Secondly, by using a large amount of time to work, residents’ health can be put at risk. No time for exercising and even relieving stress may bring them a number of serious diseases, especially those related to neurology. For example, the rate of depression in Vietnam has significantly increased in recent years due to little time for recreational activities. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for this tendency to occur, which would lead to several consequences for the community and all of us.