Many museums charge for admission, while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to museums outweigh the disadvantages?”

There are some museums that do not require visitors to pay for entrance, while there are some others, which have an entry fee. This has its own negative and positive outcomes. To begin with, although some museums rely on government funds, donations, and other sources of support, which can be unreliable and insufficient, charging visitors for admission can serve as a reliable and effective source of revenue. This can be used to fund crucial museums ’ operations, exhibits, and educational programs. For example, in Isfahan, some museums run education campaigns for the public, in order to improve their knowledge about the history of Iran. This can be a good way to know about how their ancestors worked or fought, which helps them to prevent doing the same mistakes. In addition, if people pay the entrance fees, it provides a sense of ownership, which can encourage them to invest in the institution. Hence, they feel like they are playing a significant role in preserving their cultural heritage, artefacts, and history. On the other hand, entrance fees for museums may decrease accessibility, because some low-income individuals cannot afford the cost of tickets. This may limit the ability of museums to reach a wider audience and fulfil their education and cultural missions. Moreover, processing and collecting entry fees is time-consuming and costly, as some museums need to hire employees to do it. Nonetheless, museums can offer free admission days or reduce the price of tickets for certain groups of society, like students, or low-income individuals to encourage them to visit the museums. Furthermore, museums can use an online ticketing website implementing a cashless payment system. For example, most museums in Paris implemented an online ticketing system, which allows visitors to purchase tickets in advance. As a consequence, this not only made the admission process more convenient for people but also reduced the cost and time associated with processing. In conclusion, the benefits of charging for admissions by visitors outweigh the drawbacks, because it can be considered a source of revenue generation, and also increase the sense of ownership among people. Any drawbacks can be avoided by offering free admission days or using the cashless system for the payment process.