Nowadays, we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish?

Today, many cities around the world face an increasing amount of garbage produced by citizens. This essay aims to investigate the causes of this and also put forward a number of solutions. There are many reasons why so much rubbish is produced. One important factor is the consumerist lifestyle of many people today which has led to them buying and consuming more products such as food, clothes and home appliances. As a result, more packaging is thrown away everyday which creates a lot of rubbish. Furthermore, many families do not separate reusable garbage like cans or glass jars from the rest since they are too tired or busy. The main reason for this is that a majority of parents have to work long hours out of home to make enough money for their families. Governments can do various things to decrease the amount of garbage. Firstly, they can legislate laws to limit the garbage produced by households to a certain level, say, a kilogram every day. As a result, people would definitely try to buy only the things which they need to avoid throwing away too much. This is likely to be very effective although it might not be so popular, especially in large cities. Also, governments could invest in building recycling plants so that more garbage is reused to produce new products. For example, they could use plastic bottles to make new plastic balls or computer parts. In conclusion, the reasons behind the rise in waste production include consumerism and people not recycling, and possible solutions are laws to restrict household garbage as well as building recycling centers.