Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts? Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The opening of foreign media into our society affects our local cultural background. While some argue like this, others contradict and advocate that intervention of international media provides a myriad of advantages such as educational and employment opportunities to local people. However, In my opinion, local people are gaining more benefits despite having some negligible negatives. On one hand, some may feel that our local language and culture have been destroyed due to our people watching foreign documentaries and news. This is mainly because the media outside our country always use their own language. Therefore, to watch and gain information, our people need to learn their language and thus this may significantly decrease the interest in learning our local language, especially among youngsters. However, I feel this trend of learning foreign languages can help them to have higher education from foreign institutions. In addition, people from one country, are now able to explore the culture and livelihood of other countries. In consequence, a locality from a rural village in India is getting a chance to learn British opera music through international online channels. As a result, this person may have a chance to work in Britain in future if he develops his skill. This is an example that illustrates foreign media are able to open the gates of globalisation in terms of employment. Moreover, by creating numerous job opportunities, indirectly it provides financial stability for local people as well. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the benefits that we gain through exposure to international media are outweighed the downsides such as the destruction of local culture and language.