In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

In future years, paying with notes will become obsolete due to people having to use mobile apps or cards to make payments. This essay discusses why I believe this phenomenon will occur in the future and the reasons why I think many people will be discontent about it. There are two main reasons why, in my opinion, physical money will no longer exist in the future. The first of these is that due to environmental issues and deforestation, the paper will gradually disappear. For instance, recent studies from Asia have shown that physical money production has already been decreasing as a consequence of global warming due to a shortage of materials in industries. Additionally, many companies are updating their payment system to digital platforms because it might be more convenient and safer for them. From my perspective, there are several reasons why many people may become unhappy with giving up cash to digital money. Firstly, technology usually has technical issues and people might have problems when only digital payment is available. This is because if individuals do not have physical money on hand and the internet stops working, payments will be on hold and this may cause serious problems if one is abroad, for example. Moreover, some people do not enjoy changing their habits or learning new things. This may be due to them not trusting new technologies and services or finding it hard to learn how new devices work. In conclusion, the motives why I believe cash will stop existing in the future is because notes production will be affected by deforestation and businesses will move to a digital payment system due to convenience. The reasons why some individuals might get upset about these changes are that they may face difficulties due to devices misfunctioning and they may not be open to habit changes or coping with new technologies.