Many people believe that it is important to protect the environment, but they make no effort to protect it themselves. Why do you think it is the case? What actions do you think that individuals can do to protect the environment?

The environment is defined as the surroundings in which people live. Nowadays, there is a nationwide concept of protecting the environment but no one made any effort towards it. In this essay, I will shed light on all the reasons behind this case and how it can be combated. On the one hand, these days every individual knows the current situation of their surroundings such as how badly we are damaging our planet earth, the trees being cut down to meet the increasing human demand, global warming, and air and water pollution. For example, In Pakistan, trees account for only 4-5% of the land. However, according to the forest department, trees should cover 25-30% of a country to protect our planet from damage and for sustainable life. On the other hand, everyone is busy with their own life and making money. As a result, no one finds time to come forward and take steps to overcome this problem. In my opinion, it can't only be done at an individual level. Both government and the people should work together to protect the environment for future generations. Government should implement strict laws and start campaigns to educate people. Likewise, at an individual level, people should take steps by themselves such as don't throw trash on roads, parks, and tourist areas and trying to be responsible citizens. For instance, In Pakistan, during Imran Khan's tenure, the campaign of planting trees was started which was a good step. In conclusion, I completely agree with the statement that individual believes on protecting their surroundings is important but no one finds time in their busy lives to do for their country. On the contrary, the government and their citizens could work together on this issue.