Some people think that university education should focus on skills for future employment. Others think academic study should be the only focus. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the world advancing and changing at a pace faster than ever imagined, the expectation for employees has been growing accordingly, posing huge pressure on universities in training graduates that are more skilled. Although tertiary education could equip students with skills for future employment, universities need to make cultivating academic excellence their first priority. On one hand, it would be hard for universities to be efficient as well as helpful in training skills necessary for employment since different company values different quality in hiring. Take law firms as an example, some may hunting for someone with critical thinking and rigorous reasoning while others may want to recruit someone who can interact smoothly with people from all walks of life. Consequently, it is impossible to set a course that applies universally to all students even though they are in the same major. On the other hand, college life itself comprises training for survival skills in the future workplace. After all, it is not what you have learned but how you cope with different problems that make you stand out in your work. To be more specific, qualified staff has to know how to manage their time, prioritize their tasks or even multitask in their work, all of which could be learned in academic learning. In other words, focusing on knowledge doesn’t contradict one’s preparation for their employment. On the contrary, if universities choose to sacrifice academic training for working skills, graduates would be ill-equipped to compete for job vacancies. It’s obvious that professional knowledge is hard to acquire compared with working skills and that expertise is the core value that employers are expecting from their candidates. To be more specific, nurturing one’s academic dominance over others would generate long-lasting benefits for students. To conclude, academic knowledge is what ensures every future employee a promising job, and universities should focus on this.