The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, more and more people use social media flat instead of meeting each other directly. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I believe that there are outweighed by the disadvantages On the one hand, there are a number of major benefits when we use social media for a lot of purposes, especially contacting each other. Firstly, Social media is the best tool that keeps in touch without limiting geography or time. For example, although you away from me for a thousand miles, I still contact you. The only thing you just only need is a phone with available networking. Secondly, when we use social media to contact other people, we can use it anywhere we want, and we don’t have to go out. It helps to decrease using vehicles, and mitigate congestion and air pollution. Finally, we can save a lot of money and time, because we don’t have to pay for beverages as we meet someone outside. On the other hand, I believe that the drawbacks are more significant than such advantages. The first drawback is the number of obese people is increasingly significant. I agree that more people are so addicted to social media that they do not really care enough about their health. They are becoming lazy and less active. Another negative effect is more people in society become afraid of strangers when they have to expose other people outside. They are becoming introverted and phones which they cannot live without is being their best friend. Therefore, depression is more popular nowadays. In conclusion, I would argue that social media brings more drawbacks than benefits.