Q: UNIVERSITIES SHOULD ACCEPT EQUAL NUMBERS OF MALE AND FEMALE STUDENTS IN EVERY SUBJECT . TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE ?

Some people think that tertiary education centres should take in students of both genders in equal numbers in every subject, so as to promote gender equality. I, however, strongly disagree with this concept, as the intake of students should base on their interests and not their gender. Moreover, it is unfair for students as certain subjects attract one gender more than the other. First of all, the reason why I think it is incorrect is that universities should accept students according to their interests, despite their gender. The selection of students should take into account the student's results and interests instead of their gender. As we can predict,if universities are required to take in equal numbers of male and female students into each subject, it will result in some students being not able to enter the courses they like, as they have to face tough competition for certain subjects that are gender -specific. Furthermore, some subjects attract the interest of certain gender. For example, in the university where I study, engineering mainly attracts male students while nursing study has more female students. It would be unfair for the students if the university is forced to accept the same number of students of both gender, as it would result in some male students being unable to enter engineering, and vice versa for female students getting into nursing. It will inevitably cause stress and feeling of injustice, and eventually, they might drop out due to a lack of interest in the subject that they are not keen to take from the beginning. In summary, I deeply disagree with universities taking in students based on their gender, and not their interests. If selection is made purely on gender, it will create a generation of youngsters who might be not interested in their courses, eventually resenting going to university.