Topic: Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

There are certain groups of people that endorse the project of letting the state interfere with our private life. This is supposed to improve the efficiency of public institutions. However, this view ignores the consequences it could lead to. In this essay, I will set out the arguments against the government's interference in our private lifestyles. Firstly, people have rights that need to be respected. Throughout our long history, our ancestors fought with monarchs and autocrats who strove towards subjugating the social system in their favour. This was the main reason standing behind the declaration of US independence issued by the Founding Fathers. By ensuring that citizens' rights are secured, we can dismiss the threat of totalitarian regimes, similar to that of the Third Reich. Secondly, independent people are more likely to achieve their goals. Everyone is different; therefore, there is no simple scheme that would define us. Conversely, the state that makes decisions instead of us would probably fail to get the best out of us. This can be illustrated with the already existing system in public schooling. The vast majority of parents complain that their children do not catch up with the material because children do not understand the information the lawmakers are trying to convey to them. Some raise the argument that entitling the state to shape our lifestyle would improve the stamina of certain public institutions, such as the NHS. Yet, this point is only half true. Forcing people to follow the government's orders would probably backfire. Most people in Western culture believe that nobody should tell them what to do unless there is a war. Thus, most people would try to undermine the government's position on purpose, just to demonstrate that there are limits that should not be crossed. To conclude, the state should not interfere in people's private life, as this would breach the rule of law and potentially lay foundations for future totalitarian regimes. The basic rights of citizens should be respected by the government because this would effectively factor in people achieving their goals.