In some countries, more and more adults choose to continue to live with their parents after they graduate and have found jobs. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages? (Social)

An increasing number of people after graduating a university and getting a job have decided to live with their parents. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this trend are more significant than the benefits in view of the lack of individuals’ social independency. One notable advantage is fewer financial concerns. In general, young people especially those who are around twenty-five years old, cannot afford to make a living by themselves due to a low salary and higher housing costs. The person who is not able to rely on their guardians, is forced to starve with insufficient substances and a meagre home. In Japan, 30% of young adults select to stay with their parents because of money issues. On the contrary, living with another person including their parents means they do not need to pay additional costs related to housing, and it leads to enormous relief in terms of finance. In addition, it might contribute to efficient savings for their future events, such as marriage and going abroad for study or business. In Japan, 30% of young adults select to live with their parents because of money issues. Nevertheless, this tendency might bring more drawbacks than saving. To live with their parents might mean dependency on others. Guardians normally are willing to take care of their children excessively, for example, by serving their meals and doing some household such as cleaning. Even if their children do not desire such extravagant care, after immersing in these circumstances, almost all individuals are reluctant to leave from there. Moreover, this environment can deteriorate their social independence minds, and they might think that even occurring financial problems, their parents would solve these issues instead of them. In Japan, “the NEET person”, who does not work and settle in their parent's house is one of the social challenges. In conclusion, although relying on parents ’ homes may benefit in terms of financial aspects, it might be detrimental to young adults’ independencies. Therefore, I believe that the negative points of this trend have more weight than the downsides.