Nowadays, sports is a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and companies involved both financially and other ways. Is this a positive or negative development for sports? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Professional athletes and companies related to sports both financially and in other ways can earn high salaries. In my opinion, the advantages of this change outweigh the disadvantages in terms of the advancement of sports. It is true that there are several negative impacts caused by sports becoming a big business. One notable disadvantage is that opportunities to become professional sports players can be limited to only wealthy people because they need to buy high-quality equipment or take special training due to the highly competitive environment. This environment is created since top athletes become role models for many children due to plenty of appearances in the media, and thus increasing numbers of people are into being top players. On the other hand, there are positive impacts brought by the growth of the sports business, especially in the development of sports. For instance, if sports players become a job that can be rich and attracts numerous people, more talented individuals challenge it, which enhances the fundamental level of sports. In Japan, baseball is the most popular sport in which people can earn a high salary if they become top players. Hence, the quality of players increases every year, more of which go to the major league, the highest-level baseball league in the world. Moreover, sponsorship is extremely important for sports since athletes can concentrate on training. Some players in minor sports have to do other jobs for paying bills, which deprives them of the time to improve their abilities. Increasing the incomes of sports players is essential to make a positive cycle. To sum up, although there are drawbacks, such as inequality of opportunities to be top athletes depending on wealth, there are benefits to enhancing the basic level of sports. Therefore, I conclude this change brings more positive impacts on sports.