Successful companies use advertisements to make more sales. What can make an advertisement effective? Do you think advertisemnts are a bad thing or a good thing for the society?

These days, undoubtedly, advertising is one of the essential elements in marketing and it helps companies to increase their income by attracting more customers to purchase their services or products. Regarding the ways of making advertisements more effective, the first thing is that the companies should ensure the ideas and plots that are used in advertisements should be creative and entertaining. People are now living a hectic life and everyone is busy with their work or study, therefore, the advertisements that the company used must be eye-catching in order to draw the attention of the public. As citizens may suffer from tremendous pressure in daily living, most of them prefer watching to something that can make them feel relaxed after work. Moreover, with the advancement of technology, companies can make good use of different social platforms, such as Facebook, Instagram and Youtube, to promote their products. Promotion videos and advertisements with fascinating storylines and hilarious characters can spread quickly on the Internet and reach a large number of potential consumers, and hence,it may increase the effectiveness of the advertisement. Although advertisements can help to boost the income of a company and let people know more about different new products in the market, I think it has a bad influence on society due to several reasons. The first reason is that advertising would promote consumer culture. More and more people would like to follow the newest trend in the market and as a result, they would waste money and buy many items that they do not really need. For instance, as many renowned brands,like Gucci and Chanel, are associated with higher social status, many people would like to fulfil their vanity at the expense of lavishing money on something unnecessary, and even worst, some may need to face serious financial problems due to excessive shopping. Advertisements also convey inappropriate values to the public and manipulate people at the end of the day. A striking illustration is that glamorous and thin model is usually used to promote products in fashion magazines and this conveys a message that" thin is tantamount to beauty" to the public and affects a large group of the population to reflect on their body shapes as well as lower their self-esteem. Therefore, under this line of thinking, I believe that advertisement has a detrimental impact on society.