Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past describe some of the advantage and disadvantage of television for children?

Children are becoming couch potatoes nowadays as compared to the past due to the advancement in technology. Although there are various drawbacks to this trend, limitations to watching TV as well as only emphasising watching channels that are providing accurate and genuine information might be fruitful. This essay puts light on both advantages and disadvantages of watching television and how the interest of children has changed since the last decade. Television is helping teenagers in a number of ways. Initially, there are many channels which provide news from all over the world. This is not only escalating the general knowledge of adolescents but also they can spend time with their family along with enjoying meals. To illustrate, most parents are working overtime to make extra money for the future of their kids, however, they are losing the moments that they should spend with family. Therefore, television is the best way to make them closer to each other because that is the only time when all household members can sit together in one place. While there are several positive sides to watching television, being addicted to it can have detrimental effects on an individual's health. Children who sit in front of TVs for hours can face many health issues such as weak eyesight and headaches. For example, this is generally true that sitting in one place for hours and looking at the objects which are moving in every second, putting pressure on the eyes and repeating the same process for hours might lead to migraines and headaches. Thus, watching the maximum amount of screens can create various serious health problems. In conclusion, even if the surging demands of television are leading to many physical health issues, many adults are taking advantage of spending only a few hours watching only news channels to gain general knowledge.