A ban on all forms of advertising is beneficial to society because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that all forms of advertising should be banned for having no value added to society. This essay strongly disagrees with this suggestion as now will be discussed. Firstly, regarding consumers, high-quality advertisements can act as an information service and effectively educate buyers. More specifically, Commercial broadcast on television, social platforms or leaflet enables people to know what they want and where they can get it. Competitive advertisements can highlight the strengths of their own products versus those of competitor brands in the market. Such emphasized differentiation allows consumers to have a more in-depth knowledge of the products, therefore establishing clear value propositions for them to make the decision. In this manner, advertising could bring the enjoyment of the new amenities and make the life of consumers become easier, more comfortable and more pleasant. Secondly, in terms of brands and companies, advertisements can reach masses of geographically dispersed buyers at a low cost per exposure. Direct marketing on digital and social media can provide great international market coverage which promotes better product sale rates across countries. Popular platforms such as Facebook, Tiktok or Youtube amass detailed personal and financial information of their users and utilize them to offer marketers a great variety of advertising campaigns that suit different budgets and purposes. Hence, even small or mid-scale companies can have a tailored advertising plan to approach their potential group of people, thus making it easier for shop owners to increase their brand recognition. In conclusion, despite some downsides that might be brought about by poor quality adverts, I totally disagree that all advertising should be banned given the aforementioned arguments.