Some people think that young criminals should receive the same punishment as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Opinion

Some individuals believe that juvenile offenders should face the same penalty as grown-ups. In my opinion, I would completely disagree with this statement because their still changing personalities are to blame for committing a crime; therefore, instead of punishing them like adults, we should consider providing them opportunities for a brighter future. Firstly, it seems unfair to compare adolescents who are not entirely aware of their actions with adults who know what they are doing. Their immature judgement and absence of self-control can lead to criminal acts because they sense fewer risks. Moreover, young people are readily affected by others. For instance, when I was ten, I used to shatter kindergarten windows with stones and escape with my friends. I am not sure why I used to do this; maybe one of my friends suggested it, and we thought it was funny without realizing our evil actions. Another reason to support my view is that imposing severe penalties for minors might lead to recidivism, so we need to find a more rehabilitative approach. I believe that giving them a second chance not only reduces future crimes but also helps them reintegrate into society. For example, I just heard on the internet that a court sentenced some juvenile offenders to a program named "chess for life". As a punishment, they must play chess which can make them more self-confident. In conclusion, many individuals consider that both young and adult offenders should be given the same punishment. I strongly disagree with this, and I feel we should provide them with another opportunity.