Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on young people and the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly believed that social networking sites, especially Facebook, have an enormous harmful influence on people as well as societies. In my opinion, while I totally agree that social networks have a disadvantageous impact on individuals, the influences on society are positive actually. On the one hand, there are various negative impacts of social platforms on the users. First, social media such as Facebook, which include entertaining video or games, is relatively addictive to many people. Therefore, some individuals are glued to their phone and neglect other essential activities like exercising and learning new skills, which may result in serious mental illness like depression. Second, media channels can be seen as a major source of real interaction disruption. Nowadays, many younger people choose to make friends online rather than going out to meet new people in the real world, and virtual relationships generally lack the depth of connection and authenticity. On the other hand, platforms not only bring economic value but also help prevent the spread of viruses during the Covid-19 epidemic. Most social media allow companies to conduct business and consumers to go shopping online, which helps boost the cash flow and profits. For example, people just stay home, choose anything they want to buy and it will be delivered to their door, which means that people can save their time and fees for transportation. Moreover, the benefits of social connection are even more evident during the epidemic. Quarantine when communicating via virtual platforms is an excellent and effective method to prevent the spread of the virus. In conclusion, the appearance of social media, although detrimental to its individual users, brings about many benefits to society. This invention may have positive effects on people if they are aware of their self-control.