Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In contemporary society, the incidence of children being absorbed in electronic devices hovers at a high level. There are various reasons attributed to it, and I definitely contend that this issue has numerous disadvantages. The increasing number of children who are addicted to electronic devices is influenced by various aspects of society. The first factor attributed to it is a lack of parental guidance. Parents play a pivotal role in children's growth, educating them on social and daily regulations such as the harm of spending excessive time on smartphones. Secondly, with the rapid development of the Internet, a host of celebrities impart incorrect views to children. It is well known that children are the most vulnerable to negative influences and unable to distinguish right from wrong. When children encounter violent or pornographic content on social media, they are likely to become addicted. Lastly, the design of the apps enocourages encourage children to keep endless scrolling the screen, due to the dopamine produced. There is no doubt that seeing children spending hours on smartphones brings a lot of worries and negative influences. In the first place, the possibility of juvenile delinquency rises, as children lack self-control. For instance, a kid who watches videos concerning school violence become interested and want to give it a shot, undermining social stability. Furtheremore, the incidence of children addicted to mobile phones is detrimental to national development, as fewer intelligent and sane children contribute to building cities. In addition, family relationships are not well-maintained since there is less time for parents and children to communicate and more time spent on entertainment. In conclusion, various reasons, including societal factor, parental influence and key opinion leaders contribute to the proliferation of children buried in smartphones. I do assert that it is a bad trend for the entire nation.