Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

At present, people hold divergent opinions on the meaning of receiving higher education in college. Some individuals argue that it is beneficial to graduates' career development, while others contend that it is a blessing for both the masses and society as well. Personally, I reckon that advanced education in universities can exert positive effects on the public and society in equal measure. On the one hand, attending universities help students gain a competitive edge in job seeking. To begin with, when interacting with their peers and tutors on campus, young people can learn how to compete, collaborate and compromise with each other, which enables them to stand out from the crowds among fierce competition in the job market. Additionally, it is in the universities that youngsters can access a large number of pragmatic courses, which can equip graduates with professional knowledge. Due to the fact that a majority of professions require employees to have relevant qualifications, only when people master professional skills and obtain educational degrees successfully, can they have the opportunity to gain a foothold in some specific areas. On the other hand, as for the communities, the merits of university education cannot be overlooked. Firstly, moral and ethical values are imparted to students in universities, which are of great significance to cultivate law-abiding citizens. With more people being educated, the whole society will undoubtedly become more harmonious and more stable. Secondly, higher education lays foundations for the advancement of cutting-edge technologies. Majoring in scientific subjects, such as chemistry and artificial intelligence, students can make contributions to carrying out scientific research, thereby surmounting some thorny issues like several contemporary fatal diseases. In conclusion, in spite of the divergent opinions towards the function of university education, I am adamant that both college students and communities can benefit from it.