In many cities more people are living alone. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years a general trend has been witnessed in several cities, many people are taking the choice to live alone probably in need of escaping metropolitan chaos and being just alone. Are we looking at a socially negative trend that may have an impact on people within urban communities? Consequences could be worrisome and issues like mental and physical health are at stake. It is widely known how people are working on the clock, more than ever workers feel the need to increase productivity while bearing in mind to conduct an healthy and active social life. Therefore, many of people are looking for spaces where to live alone in order escape from chaos and find peace. Moreover, not being accountable to anyone, may them be either a flatmate or a partner, probably gives people a sense of freedom compared to the constriction of their workspace. However, has been proved that an initial feeling of free self-care time gain is quickly replaced by a longer period dedicated to work throughout weekdays with tasks brought home. This behaviour leads to several bad habits like week-end full of laziness resulting in binge watching of tv series, little time spent on healthy food preferring junk products. Lastly a great feeling of loneliness and isolation which foster and self-feeds itself. In conclusion, this trend has been proved to be highly harmful. Living alone brings away people from the benefits of socialising and being around people for leisure. If not swiftly tackled down might represent a big issues in the forthcoming decades.