Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Nowadays fast food is considered the main cause of obesity. Although some people believe that this disease influences only their appearance, it actually has more severe consequences which affect health, therefore, this problem requires an immediate solution. Society supposes that taxation would improve the situation and I firmly advocate this opinion. This essay will provide arguments for my point of view. To begin with, the main audience of fast food restaurants are teenagers, who usually do not have a well-paid job and receives money from their parents. Consequently, this age group selects restaurants based on their financial abilities. Moreover, the youth often do not look after their health properly and is not notified about the aftermaths of the lack of essential vitamins and elements. For instance, students in the breaks prefer to visit places, where they are able to eat inexpensively and swiftly, in order to not be late for the next class. Furthermore, from the economic approach, when there is a rise in prices on one market, in this case, because of the taxes, the public will buy goods substitutes, videlicet healthier meals. The quantity demanded of fast food will decrease and this provokes an increased supply of organic products, which results in the rise of competition in the market and leads to a drop in prices. In addition, this contributes to the solution of the poor nutrition problem, because more people can afford to purchase decent eating. For example, with the farmers' product costs declining more people will be able to eat well at home. In conclusion, from the arguments and examples given, I strongly believe that taxation would influence the situation in a positive way.