New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend overweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancement of technologies, there are varieties of technical games available in the market. Specifically, with the accessibility of electronic devices and the internet, kids are spending most of their time playing games on their mobile phones or computers. There are enamours advantages although we cannot ignore its impact on kids. In my opinion, the disadvantages overweigh the advantages as physical activities and sports have taken a back seat. To start with, each child has their own interest and they use their free time on the basis of their interests. Today's generation uses gadgets to learn and find out solutions to their problems from educational websites. To cite an example, I used to take help from YouTube videos to find the solution to Maths and Science problems. Likewise, this generation explores all the available options and makes new inventions. To demonstrate, there is a teenager in Bangalore who has learnt coding with the help of YouTube and developed an app with the help of his father who is a software engineer. Therefore, technology and guidance play an important role in building the skill set for students. Though we have many advantages we cannot ignore the disadvantages. The first and foremost impact is kids are not playing outdoors. With lesser physical activities and negligible involvement in sports, children are getting lethargic and obese. For instance, we have a lesser number of youth players participating in the national level games. Also, increased screen time is the biggest issue behind weak eyesight. For instance, children in junior grades are dependent on spectacles for clear vision. Additionally, the internet contains data which are not appropriate for toddlers and teenagers. For example, while watching an educational video, an advertisement for protection started displaying. Thus, parents need to be careful while their children surf the technology. To conclude, we cannot barrier the usage of gadgets in the modern era. However, we have to be very careful and balance the number of outdoor activities as well.