In many countries, there is shortage of housing due to growing population. Some people argue that new towns should be built in the country side, others argue for the regeneration of cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of building new towns in the country?

The population in many nations is escalating at an alarming rate which is resulting in the reduction of houses. Although numerous people emphasise that the construction of new towns is the only solution, others argue that improving amenities in cities can help. This essay puts light on the benefits and drawbacks of constructing new towns in the nation. There are a number of benefits of building new towns if the population is increasing. Initially, the government can accommodate a huge amount of homeless people as well as the population from existing towns will decline when they will decide to migrate to a new town. In addition, The revenue of the country will increase by new businesses in that town. To illustrate, if authorities will be successful to accommodate the majority of homeless people and new generations, businesses will start to grow in those towns which will be beneficial for the government to increase their revenue because the new businesses will pay taxes to the country. Thus, new towns can support the nation by providing new houses for people and revenue for the government. The disadvantages of this approach cannot be ignored and the first major concern for the authorities is deforestation which always comes to mind when authorities start new projects that are detrimental to the ecosystem. Another issue is the funds which are required in huge amounts to build new towns within a country and many undeveloped nations cannot afford the cost of building new big towns. For example, India is the second largest country in the world having immense pollution due to a lack of revenue and financial conditions they are unable to build new towns and cities. Therefore, establishing new towns and cities is not easy without disturbing the ecosystem and having sufficient funds. In conclusion, while the construction of new cities can be fruitful in a number of ways such as an increment in the revenue of the nation by the new businesses which will take place there, not every country is economically strong enough to start these big projects as well as it will disturb the nature for sure.