Write about the following topics. Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

There are a lot of arguments saying that tourism brings negative effects to the local communities and environments. I do not agree with this statement because in fact there are several reasons that tourists actually bring advantages to the locals. The first reason why tourism is good for local people is that they will spend a lot of money at that place and that is good for the economy of the community. When tourists visit a certain destination, they will need some accommodations such as hotels, restaurants and transportation. This will increase the demand and it will be a great opportunity for locals to start a business. Some examples of these kinds of businesses are open hotels and restaurants, car rentals, tour agencies and souvenir shops. In addition, tourism also could be a way to promote cultures and values to people from other sides of the world. As a tourist, we usually seek an extraordinary experience that we might never have before. Some exciting memories that many tourists would see are the culture of locals, foods, sceneries and feelings while visiting the destination. As a result, this could be a way to promote the local environment and make it more famous. One example of this argument is inviting famous artists as brand ambassadors in order to influence more people to visit the destination. In conclusion, there is not true that tourism may bring drawbacks to local communities. In fact, being a tourist has many benefits for local communities like increasing the economic value for the locals and also one way of promoting the destination. It is why tourism always become one of the main sources of income for some parts of cities in the world.